

THE POLESTAR FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES WINNERS OF 13th ANNUAL POLESTAR AWARDS

~ Recognises Excellence in IT and Business Journalism for 2010 ~

Chennai, September 30, 2011: The PoleStar Foundation, an independent trust established in 1998 to recognise Excellence in Business and IT Journalism, announced the winners of the 13th Annual PoleStar Awards in a ceremony held at the Hyatt Regency, Chennai on Thursday, September 29, 2011. The award ceremony was inaugurated by the Chief Guest, Chetan Bhagat, Youth Icon, Author of four Best Selling Novels, Columnist and Motivational Speaker in the presence of Arun Jain, Founder, PoleStar Foundation and Chairman & CEO, Polaris Software, Dr. Ashok, CEO Coach and other special dignitaries from Industry, Media and Academia.



From left to right:

Mr. Chetan Bhagat, Sudhir Gore from India Today, Vantika Dixit from Technology Review, Jamshed Avari from CHIP and Arun Jain, Founder, PoleStar Foundation

 ${\it Hi-res\ pictures\ of\ the\ event\ can\ be\ made\ available\ on\ request}$

The Winners of the 13th Annual PoleStar Awards are:

1. Best Feature in IT Journalism:

Mr. Jamshed Avari, Deputy Editor of CHIP for his story, "Safe Social Networking" published in CHIP magazine dated February, 2010.



2. Best Feature in Business Journalism:

Mr. Sudhir Ramchandra Gore, Assistant Editor of India Today for his story "White Crisis" published in India Today dated April, 2010.

3. The Jury's Special Recognition:

Ms. Vantika Dixit, Associate Editor of Technology Review (a publication by Massachusetts Institute of Technology) for her story "Digital Resurrection of Indian Heritage" in Technology Review dated May, 2010.

This year, the Foundation received 403 nominations from Journalists across India. A team of esteemed Jury members from the Corporate world and Academia selected winners in the categories of IT and Business Journalism.

The Jury comprised of Mr. Abhay Gupte - CEO, Logica India, Mr. Anand Sudarshan, CEO & MD, Manipal Education, Ms. Aruna Rao, Group CTO, Kotak Mahindra Bank, Mr. Arunkumar NT – MD and Global Head, IB Operations (offshore), UBS (India) Pvt. Ltd, Dr. Ashok Korwar, CEO Coach & Former Professor, IIM-Ahmedabad, Mr. Pradipta K Mohapatra, Chairman and Co Founder, Coaching Foundation India Ltd, Mr. Ramaraj R, Co-Founder and Former CEO, Sify Ltd. and Ms. Uma Ratnam Krishnan, Head, Multi Channel Performance and Development Consumer Distribution, UK Retail, Royal Bank of Scotland Group.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, **Mr. Chetan Bhagat** said "I associate journalism with a lot of integrity and maybe that's the reason why an earlier book of mine and my latest book, both have a journalist as one of the main characters. I appreciate the PoleStar Foundation for recognizing excellence in journalism for over a decade and I am proud to be associated with the PoleStar Foundation which honors the noble profession of journalism."

Congratulating the winners, **Mr. Arun Jain, Founder, PoleStar Foundation** said, "We are extremely happy to present this prestigious award to the creme da la creme of Business and IT journalism in the country. With the acceleration of news reporting and the need to stay informed 24/7, repetitive information at times confuses the average reader due to the unnecessary clutter, and we appreciate the role Journalists play in articulating a clear and correct view of the news."

The awards ceremony included a panel discussion on the topic "Is Speed Killing the True Spirit of Journalism". Moderated by Mr. Sanjay Pinto, Executive Editor, NDTV Hindu, the panel featured thought leaders and eminent personalities from the Media fraternity including Mr. Sriram Srinivasan, Chief of Bureau, The Economic Times, Mr. Chetan Bhagat, Dr. Ashok Korwar, CEO Coach and former professor, IIM-A. The discussion mainly revolved around the panelists debating whether journalistic ethics are compromised in the process of getting exclusive news 24X7.



The awards ceremony witnessed eminent media personalities, leaders from the Industry and students from Journalism schools in Chennai.

About The PoleStar Foundation

The PoleStar Foundation instituted the PoleStar Award in 1998 to celebrate Excellence in IT & Business journalism. The foundation through its annual awards pays tribute to the media citizens' contribution, for their commitment to the nation and its people, and also for tirelessly acting as a catalyst in disseminating quality information to the world. The PoleStar Award is an annual award by the PoleStar Foundation for Excellence in Indian journalism. This prestigious recognition for the Indian journalists includes a trophy, a citation and a cash prize of Rs 1,00,000 for furthering education. For further details, visit https://www.polestar-foundation.org/

For further info, please contact:

Dwaipayan Deb Mob: +91 9962536442

Email: dwaipayan.d@polarisft.com